Prestocaro’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Kettlebells and Red Velvet Cupcakes

leave a comment »

I can never really decide what I want.  Take this post, for instance….

I’ve set a goal of exercising with my kettlebell 5 times a week. I use joesgoals.com to track my progress, it’s a simple program that I’m using privately to motivate myself. I know the wedding is coming up, but it still seems like it’s far away to me. I’m actually more concerned with my lack of a beach bod than the fact that in a few months I’ll be forever preserved in photographic evidence that will be around my house FOR THE REST OF MY LIFE. I love the DVD I’m using — it’s called Kettlebell Goddess and it has a ton of different ways to combine the exercises. I also love the instructor, as she is quiet and basically says what needs to be said about form, counting with you, and so on but quiets down after that. I was exercising with Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred DVD for a while and her constant yammering really started to annoy me. Proof that I am not the “people person” I always think I am?

I’m finding it difficult to cut out the “bad stuff” from my diet. I love beer, fried foods, and salt and vinegar potato chips. I’m a carb-a-holic and could probably eat an entire baguette with some butter or brie on the side. Don’t even get me started on the wonders of a fully loaded baked potato. The other day the Fi and I even made cupcakes together.

cupcake-evidence

We made red velvet cupcakes, of course. I’ve been on a red velvet kick for months — my sister made some outrageously good ones from scratch for my bridal shower, and my flower girl decorated them with pretty pastel sprinkles. Ours were a little more laid back; we used a mix for the cupcakes and a can of frosting. Normally, I whip the frosting in my Kitchen Aid for a few minutes to make it extra fluffy but I was feeling lazy, so the Fi just slathered them up with this dark chocolate frosting. No sprinkles, even!

justbaked-cupcakes

I love how bright they are in the pan. It’s almost a shame to frost them.

chocofrost-cupcakes

I suppose the ideal contrast would be the more traditional butter cream or cream cheese frosting, but I’m a sucker for chocolate-on-chocolate. Besides, when I decide to make baked goods based on color alone, I’m making Aleta’s Rainbow Cake. I suppose it would be only fitting, since it’s so low cal!

Written by prestocaro

February 26, 2009 at 9:24 pm

Posted in fooding

Leave a Reply

